What's your hobby? 

Sounds like the most normal question in a "My friends"-book. But what is a hobby, exactly?

Is it a group where you go somewhat weekly and propably pay for it? 

If it would, what would you say about a group of women who come together for chatting and doing needleworks? Would the term "hobby" then depend on the amount of time used for doing needlework and used for chatting? Or would it be about the type of needleworks: something very special maybe, or "just restoring old wooll socks". 

And what if someone made these very special needleworks at home, alone? How many times a week should she do them to be allowed to say she has them as a hobby? And what about if she would have done it for years very much, but nowadays only rarely? 

I have attended different kind of handcraft courses and at home, I do different kind of needleworks and crafts every now and then. Could I say "I have different kind of handicrafts as a hobby"? 

Some people attend theatre group. Some play in concerts. What about me - I do these kind of creative projects occasionally, but several times a year through my life. Should I say to have "creative performing projects" as a hobby?

But in addition to performing and hand using art types, I also use words as an important part of my creative projects. Like this blog, as you know. Can it be a part of a hobby to write poems for friends' birthday cards, send letters to the editor, putting a big effort in speeches I have in work or in church for children?

I made a test questionnaire about my creativity and decided to increase the use of my visual expression in everyday situations. To use it as a part of problem solving. So, this A4-notebook has served me in different situations and helps memorising the crucial ideas I've got. 

So, what would be the right word for my hobby of "creative way of living"? And what would it be for you?